Australia Awards Scholarship in India

Australia Awards Scholarship in India

Australia Awards scholarships in India, India and Australia share a commitment to a stable and prosperous Indo-Pacific region. With enduring cultural and people-to-people ties and a strategic and economic relationship which continues to deepen, India is at the front rank of Australia’s international partnerships. Education, the flagship sector of Australia’s India Economic Strategy to 2035: Navigating from Potential to Delivery, is key to this partnership and to stepping up Australia’s economic engagement with India. To help build links with the next generation of talented Indian business and community leaders, the Australian Government has introduced a Masters-level Australia Awards Scholarship program for India. These Awards are offered to exceptional Indian graduate students from specific high-performing institutions for study in priority fields of study at one of Australia’s world-class universities.

For the 2021 academic year these are:

  • Agribusiness 
  • Agriculture 
  • Construction 
  • Energy and Resources 
  • Engineering 
  • Security and Strategic Studies

Australia Awards scholarships are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government. Through coursework and engagement with Australian private and public sector institutions, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change in their chosen field and help
build enduring links with Australia.

Applicants must submit a letter of endorsement from their institution to be considered for these Scholarships.

Applicants will be assessed on their academic excellence, leadership potential and how they intend to use the Scholarship in their future plans to help strengthen Australia-India linkages.


Eligibility criteria

Students or recent graduates from target institutions in the ten Indian states identified by the India Economic Strategy will be eligible to apply. For scholarships commencing in 2021, these institutions are:

  • Andhra University
  • Banaras Hindu University
  • Calcutta University
  • Indian Institute of Science (Bengaluru)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  • Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  • Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
  • Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • Jadavpur University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Manipal Academy of Higher Education
  • National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli
  • Savitribai Phule Pune University
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Mumbai)
  • Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology
  • University of Delhi
  • University of Hyderabad

Australia Awards applicants must meet all eligibility requirements detailed in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook, available at:

Special conditions

Applicants must also meet the following special conditions:

 scholars are expected to return to India after completing their studies.

 scholarships must be taken up in 2021. Should an awardee not be able to commence study in 2021, the scholarship will be withdrawn.

 on completion of their scholarship, recipients are expected to actively engage in relevant Australia Awards alumni networks and activities.

Key dates (for study commencing in 2021)
Applications open – 1 February 2020
Applications close – 30 April 2020


How to apply

Information on how to apply for an Australia Awards Scholarship.

Country information:

For more details-refer the  information document

Official Website

Other Scholarships